Cedar Chest Redo

Posted on Updated on

With kids, storage always seems at a minimum.  I found this antique storage chest for nothing online and based on what a family member of the original owner shared, I think it may date back to the 1920’s.  I am always looking for the right storage for next to the kitchen table to house school supplies for quick reteaching opportunities and to be hidden away until the next lesson.  The veneer on the chest had gotten wet at one time but since I was painting it, I knew it could be fixed. IMG_0673 Here is the before picture:

I palm sanded it to smooth he rough veneer until I reached a flat surface that was consistently adhered to the solid layer underneath.  Primed, painted, added a lip around the top on three sides to turn it into a window seat with a cushion.IMG_0686

It doesn’t seem like I am the only one in our house who is happy with the way this turned out.IMG_0717

Leave a Reply

