Faux Built – Ins

Posted on Updated on

IMG_0544
Everything I do starts with a list or a drawing. I even keep an idea notebook with me at all times so I can write down anything that comes to me – to create, in parenting, or things to remember when I can’t make my phone respond fast enough to type it into the calendar.  The above picture was my sketch that I talked to my husband’s buddy about which led me to buy my first router. A router is an extremely dangerous tool to work with and has way more power than I was equipped to work with alone. However, I did it – but it is not advised without carefully reading directions and picking your father’s brain first.

For the full how to elsewhere on my blog with more pictures: https://threadsandpaint.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/and-i-thought-theyd-always-be-wallflowers/

Step one is creating the frame by routing out shelf supports, sliding them in place using glue and a nail gun.

IMG_0547

I added crown moulding and paint:
IMG_0551

Then finished it with backing painted to nearly match the wall color of the room and moved the new built ins into place – hopefully making the living room a more casual dual use space as a reading room.
IMG_0555

Obviously it was accepted as the best seat in the house by one member of the family.IMG_0562

20 thoughts on “Faux Built – Ins

    virginia rohde said:
    2016/09/14 at 6:21 am

    the trim on each side shouldn’t have been put on , but for the little bite from door frame out next to wall no. good job, where did you put second one?

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2016/09/16 at 5:29 pm

      I don’t understand your question. I’m sorry.

    Lili said:
    2014/03/27 at 4:00 am

    Very nice shelves, btw what color is ur wall?

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2014/03/27 at 8:31 pm

      It’s originally a Benjamin Moore color that I had translated into a Behr color from Home Depot called Parisian Taupe. I used it throughout my house and no matter what the accent color it’s the perfect hue; it goes with red, blue, green and is always the ideal neutral. I’ll never change even though it’s been ten years with the same color it’ll always be my ‘go to.’ Happy painting!

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2014/05/27 at 11:56 pm

      Parisian taupe.

    char brink said:
    2014/02/04 at 4:00 am

    great idea, I just may try-if sometime we have 28 hour days

    Sue said:
    2014/01/17 at 5:42 pm

    I love the idea of crown moulding added to the bookshelf. I have a couple that I could “dress up”.

    M said:
    2013/12/30 at 4:44 am

    Nice looking bookshelf. But, just asking, to look like built-in, wouldn’t u keep it off of door casing?

      William said:
      2014/03/10 at 7:09 am

      Good point – a bit narrower would look more natural.

    Daedrae said:
    2013/11/18 at 2:10 am

    They look great and fairly easy. Any idea on the cost?

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2013/11/18 at 2:17 am

      The cost was almost nothing. Maybe 50-75 if I remember correctly. But the idea of building something yourself and that satisfaction… Priceless. Good luck and send pics if you decide to try it.

    Paola said:
    2013/07/23 at 3:45 pm

    Increible!!! lo voy a poner en practica para mi nueva casa. Gracias!!

    JSolomon said:
    2013/02/23 at 5:06 am

    Beautiful work. Have been thinking of getting a router myself for awhile. What kind did you get? I found your image here http://diyhomedesignpins.com/2013/02/21/how-to-build-bookcases-that-resemble-built-ins-for-your-living-roomdining-room-perfect-for-creating-dual-use-spaces-in-highly-unused-formal-rooms/, which was kind of an odd site because it did not link to your blog and had no credit. I had to do a general google image search to find you. Don’t know if you’re aware that your picture is on that site.

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2013/02/23 at 12:06 pm

      HI! I am posting a new article just for you to get started. It should be up later today.

    laura said:
    2013/02/21 at 5:50 am

    These are JUST what I’ve been looking for. Do you have any how to on the molding?

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2013/02/21 at 1:28 pm

      Hi Laura – I am glad if I was able to help out. I will take some pictures and write a ‘how to’ about the moulding. I did have to do some tricky work and used ‘paint and patch’ to sculpt into the moulding. Great idea – check back soon and I will try to have the how to finished. Thanks!

        threadsandpaint responded:
        2013/02/23 at 12:07 pm

        HI Laura – I am posting a new article today for you to get started.

    Your FABULOUS sister :) said:
    2013/01/11 at 7:54 pm

    One fat, ugly member, that is!

Leave a Reply

