New life for a coffee table

Posted on Updated on

IMG_3153

Well, I found this coffee table at a junk store for $25.00.  Plus, they were running a special on furniture where prices were slashed 50%, meaning that this thing cost me only $12.50.  I didn’t need a coffee table, but the storage space this piece provided was too good to pass up – not to mention the fact that it is a $12 coffee table.

I don’t know if every part of it is sold versus veneer, so I figured my safest bet would be to take a spin on a Pottery Barn piece that I loved and use that relative idea on this table.  I worked in layers of paint  starting with brown, yellow, then red, then black.  After it was ‘finished’ I brought it inside and added it to the family room.
IMG_3152
IMG_3159
IMG_3156
IMG_3161

The next morning, I went downstairs and realized it had bubbled.  I really did the quick fix furniture redo on this one – I mentioned in another posting that I would share about not prepping adequately.  This was the piece.  The top began to bubble up in some places and not really using the best course of scenarios, I scratched at the little tiny bubbles until the paint began to peel off in strips since it wasn’t sufficiently dry.  I also realized that the finish wasn’t exactly what I wanted around the base either.  What to do next?…but have your children sand the mistake off.

IMG_3162

Actually this was the opposite of the Tom Sawyer effect, they wanted to do it and I tried to convince them that it was too cold and I didn’t want them doing ‘hard labor’ with their little fingers, but they insisted – so I popped a palm sander and scraps of sandpaper in their hands and they worked on it for a bit. I thought it was great to capture them working, while it lasted. I am the one who actually finished – nose dripping and freezing – after their five minutes of fun were over.

I re-stained the top and darkened around the base.  Here is the result:
photo (6)
photo (10)

Leave a Reply

