Chalk Painted Antique Desk

Posted on Updated on

IMG_3623My first experience with chalk paint was with my antique dresser that I featured in my craft room niche during the great room swap post.  I wish I had taken before pictures of it because it is such a drastic transformation.  The wood was stained very dark with an unattractive pattern in the grain.  The green is so much more soothing and makes me love working on projects.

I used the recipe online since I have certain paint colors I like to stick to when painting furniture.  I always wash my furniture piece with TSP using the gloves, bucket, and disposable cleaning supplies before painting to avoid having the paint bubble up from oils that may exist on the surface.  After allowing the TSP to dry sufficiently, I did not even bother with the priming step since chalk paint is supposed to eliminate the need for it.  I thought this would be a good test.

I found the recipe online and played with the consistency – it seems like half water, half paint when working with about a cup of each and a couple of spoonfuls of non – sanded grout.  I used white grout and I am not sure what would happen if it was a different color.  You shouldn’t mix a lot of paint at once, but work in batches as you need more because this paint dries fast.  By the time the first coat was on, I was able to start my second coat where I originally started and it was bone dry by the time I finished the second coat and ready for the shabby chicing.

I use 100 coarse grit sandpaper on a random edges to give the weathered appearance, followed by a grazing of 220 to take off any snaggy edges.  The chalk paint sands off very quickly and easily.  After roughing it up with a bit of sandpaper, I used the natural Minwax soft wax that comes in a yellow can.  I wiped it on using a ton of elbow grease and a soft towel, waited for it to dry, and buffed it off.

I changed all of the hardware to these pewter knobs that looked old fashioned and the project was finished.

IMG_3625

I also reworked a caned chair into my sewing chair, painted it to match, slipcovered it, and monogrammed it with  my initials.  I should feature that before and after picture in a posting because caned chairs – especially damaged cane chairs are readily available and inexpensive.  Unless you know someone – like my dad – who can recane chairs, they’d be useless and for a few dollars can be redone.  I have three at my house – one of them is about 100 years old that have been given new life with padded seats.

Leave a Reply

