Reflection

Posted on Updated on

20131003-202626.jpg
It started with a drawing – and about ten minutes on Pinterest before I decided I had to have a french trumeau inspired mirror. My parents gave me a full length mirror with a thin white painted frame that I held onto knowing I’d do something with it. After my bathroom remodel I decided it was time. Pretty much everything that passed through the doors of my Turkish bath had to be over the top- this mirror was no exception.
I wanted all of my materials to be recycled/found/green/free. The main part of the mirror was an 18″ wide old door rescued for free during an architectural salvage extravaganza. The trim was all left over odds and ends that I swept cobwebs from to use on top and bottom and a gift contribution from my neighbor. The medallion was saved for a rainy day from a past project. The detailed frame is a recut antique frame that belonged to my grandfather. I broke it apart and recut the edges smaller to fit the size of the mirror.

20131003-203305.jpg

20131003-204206.jpg
The pieces looked like a mess scattered on my driveway last weekend, but little by little it took shape and I nail gunned all of the trim in place. I used Miss Mustard Seed’s milk paint in Ironstone and Linen to bring out the trim and recoated the body in regular oops paint from the hardware store. It’s a little bit greener than I would have liked but I can always add some more milk paint to wash the green out some.
It will eventually be mounted in the wall equidistant between the ceiling and baseboards. I love the idea of reusing and repurposing and I’m always glad to be reminded of my grandfather by incorporating his things in what I use everyday. I think he’d be super happy to see my construction skills improving- I’ve learned a lot since he was last around.

20131003-203905.jpg

20131003-203917.jpg

20131003-203930.jpg

20131003-203940.jpg
It came out too green for my taste with the bathroom color scheme so I hit it with some of Miss Mustard Seed’s white wax and it is now exactly right.

2 thoughts on “Reflection

    Jody Dale said:
    2013/10/04 at 1:26 am

    I did not see the whole,post. Thanks

    Sent from my iPad

      threadsandpaint responded:
      2013/10/04 at 1:53 am

      Just click threads and paint.

      Parry

      I apologize in advance for any typos since this message was sent from my iPhone.

      >

Leave a Reply

