Perspective

Posted on

20131212-124243.jpg

After two days off and a late opening due to snow I rejoiced in meeting the burn your eyes til they blur with tears bright white light shining back into my face rushing out of work yesterday afternoon. With the whole afternoon ahead of me and not much to do I thought – I love Wednesdays. I checked my to do list and it has dwindled to nearly nothing- which never happens. This is working out great – I thought- because I’ve meticulously planned very detail to accomplish a wide range of ‘to dos’ a couple days prior to having surgery that I’m completely weirded out by. Anything where I’m not in control of every decision – what goes on in the house and with my kids just gives me the heebie jeebies. At least I’d been able to control everything up until the point that I’m asleep. The house was cleaned, the kids taken care of, everyone familiar with their own to do list- issued by moi. It’s a funny thing when you think you’ve got everything under control when you are abruptly reminded that there is absolutely nothing under your control.

Shortly after I washed the last of a couple of dishes marveling in my ability to stay on top of everything I heard a short yell from my husband in the basement. He never yells and when I called back I got no answer. I headed downstairs and as I neared the back of the basement, the base of my socks were wet and the slushing of water in the carpet was merely the precursor to the wading pool that was in the exercise room. Talk about a lot of water. Fifty gallons has never gone so far. Our old baby – the water heater that we now know was original to the house – just gave out under her 21 years- double the ten year life expectancy of any other unloved ordinary water heater that isn’t blessed with a home where the mother loves sauna hot showers. She spewed water far and near and leaked into three rooms before she was tapped out. There weren’t enough towels in the world that could’ve soaked up that mess. December, standing in cold water up to my shins, I realized nothing like chapped soles and ankles to make you appreciate a dry floor. And I thought I had it all under control.

Surprisingly, my insurance adjuster worked late last night, the restoration company came within the hour, and the plumber changed out the water heater for a new monster baby that my husband calls ‘the Cadillac of the water heaters’ within about 12 hours flat and before my second cup of morning tea. Crisis averted. The above picture is post clean up.

I am one of those people who believes that everything happens for a reason. In my over the top fear of losing control, I needed the reminder that even when I think I’m in control it’s never mine. It’s what God or whatever higher power you subscribe to wants you to think is yours. Instead of worrying that something will go wrong in the house or in surgery making me overwhelmingly worried about my children, I’m reminded that it’s beyond my control anyway and I have to trust. Also, with every cloud a silver lining, as a person who likes to fix things, I was given one biggie to try to fix at the 11th hour and I’m grateful it was managed seamlessly. Nothing like a problem to get your mind off of something you perceived as a problem.

This holiday season, I’ve been given some much needed perspective and grateful for everything I have.

Leave a Reply

